need help on food plots - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > Game Management > Food Plots

Old 01-20-2008, 09:24 AM
B&C 120 Class

Default need help on food plots

I just leased 168 acres back in Novemeber. There are countless places for food plots. The property is in SE Ohio. Was heavily timbered 10 years ago and about half of it is cow pasture. The timbered areas seem to be a perferred bedding area. There isn't any food sources that hold the deer on the property most of them are at the neighboring been field. I have herd clover is not a good plot for holding the deer in the fall. Any advice will be helpful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-22-2008, 12:19 AM

hello, I only have about 5 years experience in food plots so I'm just learning. I do plant one plot in an old cow pasture with a mix of clover/chicory, and another plot in a tri-blend of clover/chicory/brassicas. I get most of my seeds from local feed store as I can't see any difference in production of the expensive seeds designed for deer. The deer do mow it down faster than it can grow but I figure their getting something with 25-35 % protien. One thing I can tell you is kill the plot in early spring with round-up then 3 weeks later plow/disk/fertilize/plant. Weeds will invade and take over the plot if you don't kill it first. Clover works well in moist soils, where chicory grows with less moisture Brassicas(which are large turnup type plants) seem to need more moisture than chicory. Deer love chicory! This is fun for me and gets back to hunting camp more often. I spent about $300.00 to plant two plots that total 1 3/4 acres . Hope you find some help from this.
Old 01-22-2008, 06:02 PM
B&C 140 Class

I think food plots are overrated.
Old 01-22-2008, 08:01 PM