What to plant? - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > Game Management > Food Plots

Old 01-01-2013, 09:28 PM
Scrub Buck

Default What to plant?

I'm gonna put out three food plots this spring two are 1/4 acre and the other is 1/2 an acre I live in southern MI and we have sandy soil, I'm lookin for input on what to plant and what brand of seed to use, being that I'm new to this any advise would help.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-04-2013, 03:30 PM
B&C 180 Class

I'm no expert in soils and brands of seed, but I do have some suggestions for you and a question.

First off, why are you wanting to plant a food plot in spring? Are you looking to capitalize off of it in early deer season? One thing I might caution you about is with a small food plot, it may be all gone by the time your hunting season rolls around.

If you are wanting to use this plot for more early to mid-season hunting, I would suggest planting in early August and maybe try out some turnips, oats, or brassica's (sp?) Even clover would be good for them.

If you are wanting to use this plot for more late season hunting, then I would strongly suggest something like turnips, corn, or beans.

I know there are other things to plant but here in Missouri, I keep it simple. The only thing I plant at all is turnips and I do this in early to mid-august. Right now, with 5 inches of snow on the ground the deer are tearing up my plots to get to those turnip bulbs. They'll eat the leaves from Nov-Dec and then when it starts freezing they'll start digging them up to get to those bulbs.

Good luck to you, I know I didn't help you out with the specifics, but let me know if I can help in any way!
Old 01-04-2013, 06:38 PM
B&C 160 Class

Soy beens if you get lucky with rain food all summer and fall into winter
Old 01-06-2013, 02:07 PM
B&C 140 Class