strange sound, finally pinned it down - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > The Campfire
The Campfire Got something besides hunting on your mind? Discuss anything "off topic" around the campfire.

Old 07-16-2010, 01:12 AM
B&C 140 Class

Default strange sound, finally pinned it down

This goes back just over 25 years ago. occasionally when entering the woods, as I did quite frequently back then as a photographer, I would hear a sound. it sounded like a distant woodpecker working a tree somewhat muted. I would only hear the sound once though and never could pinpoint where it came from or what made it. over the past 25 years, I woukd occasionally hear this sound with the same results. till last fall. I took a friday off to go set up my stand and decided to do a little scouting. I entered a pretty good stand of mature oaks when I heard that sound. not thinking too much about it I continued scouting when some movement cought my eye. I was in full camo and froze up as a fairly nice 8 pointer casually trudged my way. I could have remained still and probably ended up getting gored or an illegal buck with a knife(yeah, that would have happened).

The point I am making is the sound I have been hearing for so long was that of a buck as I encroached on his territory. It is not the sound that the grunt calls produce. as a matter of fact I have never heard any game calls produce that sound, till now. and I have a lot of deer calls. I have messed around with one of my doe calls and actually gotten the call to produce the bucks (I like to think of it as a bucks location call). Anyway, I cant wait to try it out this season.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-17-2010, 12:59 AM
B&C 100 Class

That sounds cool, crazy how you may hear a sound for so long but never know what it is. This spring I just found out what sound a chipmunk makes but I know I've heard it hundreds of times in the past years.