Deer Hunting Forums banner

Decisions

4K views 18 replies 10 participants last post by  joel the signman 
#1 ·
I have to make a hard decision this year. I have been hunting PA for 37 years and the deer hunting has been very good to me. However, the last several years has seen the deer numbers fall dramatically to the point that seeing one is getting difficult. Not to mention that they are going nocturnal to boot. The problem is we have a great deer camp and great hunting buddies. The trade off would be finding private lease property in Southern Ohio and starting all over. I know the hunting would be far better and better quality bucks, but giving up half a hunting lifetime/history/memories is not an easy decision to make. Thought I'd throw this around for imput, thoughts.

#2 ·
That would be a tough decision to make. But I'm gonna toss in my two cents worth anywho . . .

Guess it all boils down to what you're going hunting for in the first place. Obviously, bringing something home to put into the freezer is the top priority. But if it's the comraderie that is just as important, then you should stay right where you're at and wait to see what shows up in your rifle scope.

But that's just my opinion. Anyone else care to put in their $.02 worth???

#11 · (Edited)
Im with you on this one,plus starting over is a real hassle.What about making upgrades to the property,food plots ,cover etc to create better deer habitat

#5 ·
Yeah I agree with ronn, there's no way I'd be able to leave a 37 year history not after all those memories were created,
I'd have to bite the bullet and just suffer without deer until things came back around to normal and they will come back to normal.

#13 ·