how do i get deer in bow range - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Bow Hunting
Bow Hunting Discuss Bow Season topics

Old 08-24-2012, 11:12 AM
Scrub Buck

Default how do i get deer in bow range

hey i am new to bow hunting done it for 2 years now but i cant seem to get them in bow range any sugestions on what i should do?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-27-2012, 12:15 AM
B&C 100 Class

Biggest thing is improving your shooting so you can comfortably shoot 30-40 yards (gives you more chances at shooting a deer). The next biggest thing is to set up your stands to take advantage of the most common wind direction.

Few other tips:

1. If you are hunting woods, try to find stands of oak trees that are dropping a good deal of acorns. Place your stand in the feeding area or between it and a bedding area.

2. If you are hunting fields, see where the deer are coming into the field and place a stand 10-15yrds away from the entry point or near where they feed once they get into the field.

3. Depending on the time of season, use decoys and scents (...and to a lesser extent calls) to make them curious and bring them into your shooting range.

Good Luck!!
Old 08-28-2012, 11:12 AM
B&C 180 Class

The use of trail cameras can also help.

Check if your state/area allows mineral licks... they can help as well.
Old 08-28-2012, 03:15 PM