Deer Hunting Forums banner

!new bow hunter!

6K views 16 replies 13 participants last post by  deercrazy 
#1 ·
Hey there,

This is my first year bow hunting. I just bought a (kind of) new bow, it is 45lbs and I have been using it a lot shooting at 3D targets for the past 2 months or so. I just recently bought me a new climbing tree stand. I am really looking forward to Oct. 1st to get the season going off to a good start. Now I have been reading lots and lots of forums, threads, and so on about what to do and what to look for. Now I have never sat in a tree stand and hunted deer. The most I have ever done is just carried some slugs with me while I was rabbit hunting and if I saw one I saw one if I didn’t I didn’t. I just want to make my first bow season ever a good one. Any old wisdom and new that you guys can tell me to make my first season a one to remember? :biggrin:

#2 ·
I think all of the guys here will say safety is 1# so to make it a season you can remember. Tree stands are great but it is very easy to get over comfortable with using them. If you do not respect them and think safety first they can do more than hurt you. Highly recommend finding a mentor to help get you started the right way the safe way.

#3 ·
Well said wmi.. Tie into that tree so if the stand falls your still hanging on. Old wisdom I cant help you on but im sure some of the elders on here can hook you up. Patience during bow is what I had to learn. The deer seem to know what season it is so they tend to just stay right out of bow range. :lol: You also have to be very careful with the wind and your smell. Because how close the deer needs to be to you for you to make a good shot. Do you have any good acorn trees to hunt around? If so that where I would be early season.

Good luck and thanks for joining up.

#5 ·
Hey there,

Any old wisdom and new that you guys can tell me to make my first season a one to remember? :biggrin: