scouting public property - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Bow Hunting
Bow Hunting Discuss Bow Season topics

Old 01-15-2008, 05:25 PM
Scrub Buck

Default scouting public property

I don't have a choice other than to hunt public property, so I am wondering what is the best tactic to use so as not to have other hunters take my location as their own? Also wondering should I place bait in a pile or spread it out, I figured by spreading it out,the bait wouldn't be as noticable. I really need help on this, I have been hunting for (4) four years and still have not harvested a deer. PLease help me, the taste or rather lack there of venison is taunting me!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-15-2008, 07:48 PM

Well I really cant give you the best tactics on public land. I am lucky enough to have a couple areas of private land I can hunt. Good luck in trying to find some yourself. It is usually pretty hard unless you know somebody.

As far as bait I recommend that you always spread it. Deer like to browse around and eat and walk a little and eat some more. The main reason you should spread it is because it will help in preventing the spread of diseases. When you just make one big bait pile you have many different deer swapping slobber with other deer. That is how Cwd is often spread from deer to deer.

Stick with the deer hunting. When you get that first one you will see why it was well worth the wait and persistence. Good luck.
Old 01-15-2008, 09:42 PM
B&C 180 Class