first bow purchase advice - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Bow Hunting
Bow Hunting Discuss Bow Season topics

Old 01-01-2008, 01:48 PM
Scrub Buck

Default first bow purchase advice

im am 15 years old and i am looking to buy my first bow and i dont want to spend that much money like 400 total and i want to be able to grow with it so i can use it for more that a few years.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2008, 04:02 PM

Hey hunter512 I'm in the same boat as you cuz I am looking for a new bow as well. I've checked out used bows with all the pieces attached (sight pins, arrow holder, quiver, etc.) and some brand new bows with out the pieces for about the same price range that you're in. But just hang in there you'll get some good info from the others as soon as they read this. You got alot of time ahead of you, at 31 I'm just starting out in the bow hunting phenom. And welcome to the site were glad to have you aboard.
Old 01-01-2008, 06:42 PM
B&C 160 Class

hey HUNTER512

Welcome, don't have an answer for your question because selecting a bow goes so much by individual feel. I think at your age finding a bow to grow with may be a bit difficult due to the draw length and weight change over the next few years. I really would suggest that you go to a pro shop. First have them check you draw length and then let you try a few bows set at different draw weights. Once you know your draw length and comfortable draw weight then you could check to see which manufacturer makes a bow in your range. Ensuring you have the proper draw length and weights will help prevent bad habits from forming as you learn, form and/or angles a bow is held at are critical to accuracy.

Try as many bows as you can in your range and simply pick the one that feels best to you. This is very subjective but try to find one you feel comfortable with. Then practice, practice,practice and then practice some more. Hope this helps and good luck!!!!