bow hunting - Deer Hunting Forums

Go Back   Deer Hunting Forums > General Forums > Bow Hunting
Bow Hunting Discuss Bow Season topics

Old 11-12-2007, 09:53 PM
Scrub Buck

Default bow hunting

hey guys... im relatively new to hunting(rifle) and ive enjoyed it so far.. im only sixteen... i was woundering how much u ppl like bow hunting opposed to say rifle or muzzloader,etc.... pros and cons, and approx. how much it would be to get started to go bow hunting (equipment bow, arrows, etc)

thx fer the replies
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-13-2007, 01:24 AM

i like bow hunting. it extends my hunting season so i can spend more time in the woods. you can get into bow hunting kinda cheap if you dont have to buy all the newest equipment. if your happy with a used bow you can get set up pretty cheap.

bow hunting is more challenging but you also feel a level of excitement you dont get with a rifle. the deer have to be closer to you though so it can be tough hunting at times.

i do not hunt exclusively with a bow. i take with me the most firepower that is legal to use.
Old 11-13-2007, 09:37 AM
B&C 180 Class

welcome to the forum and to the world of bowhunting.I love hunting with the bow.In NY bowhunting allows you to experience the whole rut and extends your time a field.The action is up close ,kills take place at 20/25/30 yards.ya get to wear full camo and climb trees,just like being a kid again
Genesis 27:3 "The thinking deer hunter should mature through three phases during his hunting life. First phase, "I need to kill a deer." Second phase, I want to harvest a nice deer. And last phase, we must manage this resource so our children and their children can experience the grand tradition of good deer hunting." - Jim Slinsky
Old 11-13-2007, 02:27 PM
Scrub Buck