Deer Hunting Forums banner

Canada trip

9K views 23 replies 5 participants last post by  thefielddude23 
#1 · (Edited)
I've started the countdown to the trip. :pickle: 4 Weeks to go. They had a late ice out this year and hopefully the water temp stays cooler than last year. The really big pike head to deep cold water and it can be a game changer if it stays cold. Anything under 68* surface temp and we stand a good chance of boating a 20+ pounder. That is the goal every year and last year we had 2- 18 lb'ders but didn't get that really nice trophy. This year is really special as my fishing buddy retires this year, I have been working with him for 38 years. This is the kind of fishing buddy that just bought a $250.00 Bass Pro deep cycle battery for my boat. That's a pretty special friend. The same father/son combo is back for their second trip. Once you try pike fishing in Canada you are hooked for a lifetime. My son cannot make the trip but has plans for next year. I've got all the gear ready and even got a new rod/reel for this and years ahead, a St Croix rod with a Lew's reel. Can't wait to try it out.

#3 ·
well his drink is someone named Jack and a cola as in Coke. :yucky: But I will come uo with something. This guy has built a yellow transformer 69 Camaro ss and a Red 67 GTO in the last 5 years and man does he do a great job. He gave his son the SS, I ask him if I could be a step son and wait in line for a toy from daddy. :lol:

#4 ·
HM what the heck did you need a battery for when we used to fish Canada we just let the Pike on the line pull us around
& Man I would love to see a pic of that Camaro the 67-69 Camaro is my dream car I don't need anything exotic like most A good ol fashion Camaro I would be in HEAVEN
OH 3 WEEKS TO GO
Good luck with those Pike I know I miss them just not the 12 hour trip

#5 ·