Deer Hunting Forums banner

rookie mistake

5K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  gfdeputy2 
#1 ·
Hi guys, I'm new to bow hunting, this will be my first year bow hunting. I've been hunting with a shotgun so I guess you can say I have some experience, but my cousins said that bow hunting is a different story. Will I just wanna know what were your rookie mistake when bow hunting? All my cousins and people I know said that their rookie mistake was shooting deer that was too far, even though they hit the deer, the deer didn't die. What was your rookie mistake? I hope to learn from you pros out there! Thanks!

#2 ·
First off I'm no pro, but my biggest mistake when I began was movement. In most cases during bow season there's usually still leaves on the trees and the forest is still green with growth which impairs visibility making it easier for deer to sneak in closer to us without us seeing them and because they're closer they do NOT miss movement not even the slightest side to side head movement, sometimes I swear they even see us blink our eyes causing them do bound off.
So that would be my big advice to a novice bow hunter, movement, don't make any unless you're absolutely sure it's safe to move without spooking deer, that includes walking to your stand, stopping along the way and when you get to your hunting spot, be wary of your movements.

Good Luck

#3 ·