Deer Hunting Forums - View Single Post - Discouraged young hunter
View Single Post
Old 12-01-2011, 10:18 AM
B&C 180 Class

Quote:
Originally Posted by WestTNHunter22 View Post
Hey guys, I'm 14, this is my first year hunting. I've been hunting this bean field since juvenile weekend (Oct 30). I've went about 8 times and sat for atleast 2-3 hours at a time in the morning and evening.
If you've only been 8 times, be patient. Sometimes you aren't going to see deer when you hunt, or even anything worth shooting. Many times, deer come when you least expect it. Also- try to stay longer than just 2-3 hours. I like to stay at least 4-5 hours in the morning and 3-4 hours in the evening.

Quote:
The only deer I've seen is 2 small bucks (about the size of a dog). I haven't seen them since then. Which that was 3-4 weeks ago. I've heard this spot has some big deer but the people who hunt across the road have food plots and kill anything that walks. So basicly, they're "stealing" our deer.
WHOA buddy... just because someone else has the resources (MONEY) to plant food sources doesn't mean they are stealing your deer. I hunt on a property where my neighbors stay off their land MUCH more than my land. My father-in-law has cows, hayfields, crop fields, and he's constantly driving through the field or working on fence. Do I start criticizing my neighbors? No... I try to out smart them and find where the deer are coming off their property onto mine. Remember, deer cover ALOT of area. A 40 acre field is a "walk across the living room" for them.

Quote:
There were so many deer at this field, that the top of the bean stalks were gone. So I'm disappointed that they're not using it. I wash my clothes then take them outside to let them air out.