Deer Hunting Forums banner

new here, just ordered new muzzleloader

5K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  johnnyf 
#1 ·
Hey folks,

I am brand new to muzzleloading although I have rifle & bow hunter for years.

I just ordered a new T/C Encore Pro Hunter Endeavor today. I already have a Nikon BDC scope and will have it mounted when the muzzleloader comes in.

What are the other needed supplies? I know about the 50/50 pellets, the primers and sabots. What are the best of each I should get for the best performance? Also what are the best cleaning/lubricant items that I will need?

Is there a really good online source for all my muzzleloading supplies?

Thanks,

#2 ·
hello, well you picked a really great product in TC. I would not shoot pellets but use Black Horn loose powder. Bullets/sabot your choise so many to choose from. 250, 260, 290 gr in something. Rem, or CCI primers. Cabela's, bass pro has everything you need in one store.

#4 ·
Black Horn powder is simply the very best powder on the market right now for ML. I've never been a fan of pellets, too many things could go wrong, crushing one while loading, only one might go off, had this happen to me several times. Just try some BH powder and you will never regret it! Common loads are 90,100, 110 grs of BH behind a 250 gr TC Bonded shockwave. There are many other bullets to try but this is a good starting point.

#7 ·
I meant to ask another question. I will be using the T/C Encore Prohunter with the Nikon BDC 300 (3x9x40) scope. Isn't there a recommended "sabot/powder charge" combination that is supposed to work in conjunction with the Nikon BDC scope? IOW the bullet drop compensation marks on the lower vertical crosshair are supposed to be 50 yards apart. But I thought that it was supposed to work with certain sabots & powder quantities? Am I wrong?

#6 ·
As I said I am new to this. How do you measure the blackhorn powder? Or does it come in some sort of "pre-measured" quantities? Details, thanks.