Deer Hunting Forums banner

Tips

4K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  BGABBARD 
#1 ·
well this is my first time here and my second year hunting. i live in indiana so season starts staurday. i want to kill the big one but im not sure on the key tactics that need to be considered. i will hunt out of a tree stand for most of the day until about sundown than i will walk through the woods. i am hunting on private property. any tips are greatly appreciated.

#3 ·
Hey BGABBARD and welcome to the forum. A tip, control your human scent and play the wind. Have yourself positioned so that the sun is behind you while in your stand. Keep sudden movements to a minimum. If you see a lone doe keep tabs behind her and watch her ears and head and see if she keeps looking behind as if something is following her. If a buck is following stay ready because there will be more than one buck following. It may be 15, 45, or even an hour behind her but patience and persistence will pay off. GOOD LUCK.

#4 ·
G/L this year.

I love to hunt funnels and prefer a funnel over any other stand location. If you can hunt a funnel, hunt it.

Stay away from using calls such as grunts, rattlling horns, etc. until you've practiced and feel you can emulate the calls as intended. If you go out and "blindly" make the calls you'll get frustrated that you aren't getting a response. Go to youtube and look up deer calls. Field and Stream magazine posted several videos of the Deer Doctor(Peter Fiducciou, I believe) performing calls. I thought they were pretty educational and they helped me tweek my calling.

I'm not sure that I would still hunt, or walk through the woods as you stated you may do unless the leaves are wet and there aren't many sticks on the forrest floor. If the leaves are dry or there are a lot of sticks, the deer will hear you comming before you see them and scatter. The exception to this would be if you had a drive organized.