Deer Hunting Forums banner

Gear Questions

3K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  tnrebelguitarist 
#1 · (Edited)
Last year I realized that my bib overalls and jacket have gotten kind of sung around the chest and midsection. I love my set-up, its 10x Gortex, 150 gram thinsulate bibs with a 2-in-1 200 gram thinsulate jacket. However, it is getting kind of old considering I've been wearing it for almost 4 years now. I was doing some looking around for new gear and wanted to ask a few questions about gear, scents, and attractants:

1. How does the 10x Gortex, Torrent (Mossy Oak), and Bone Dry (Red Head I think) stack up with one another as far as bulkiness, loudness of the fabric, wind/water/weatherproof, warmth, etc. Most of the set ups I looked at had the 150 gram thinsulate bibs with a 2-in-1 200 gram jacket ( the jacket is important to me because I don't have to buy a seperate bow hunting jacket for those chilly mornings that turn into warm days), but I haven't had any experience with the Torrent gear or the Bone Dry...frankly the 10x Gortex has worked fine for me with all their gear through the years, but I'm just wondering if there is anything better.

2. I came across some DIH ( doe in heat) scents at bass pro that I haven't ever used before. Blazin' Doe was one, Knight N Hale had one out as well, then there was the DIH gel from Code blue. I was just wondering if anyone had success with these. My dad has always ordered DIH from a small place in Illinois that collects it fresh and does not dilute it whatsoever. It has lead to great success throughout the year (even bringing in buck during the late seasons of December and January). However, they have been out of contact so I am wondering what would be the best buy for DIH.